7 Vegetarian Foods That Secretly Contain Animal Products

Siddhi Sharma
Jan 30, 2025

Gelatin desserts

Made from animal collagen, often found in jelly and gummies.

Parmesan cheese

Contains rennet, an enzyme extracted from calf stomach lining.

Marshmallows

Typically contain gelatin derived from animal bones and cartilage.

Worcestershire sauce

Traditional versions include anchovies for added umami flavor.

Caesar dressing

Often made with anchovies blended into the creamy sauce.

Red food dye (Carmine)

Sourced from crushed cochineal insects for color.

Refried beans (some brands)

Sometimes cooked with lard, an animal fat.

VIEW ALL

Read Next Story